Patreon!!

December 13, 2014

patreonimage

Heyyy, so this is a more important announcement than usual…
I’ve mentioned in the past that i might do this, and indeed the time has come: i’m pleased/nervous/pleased to announce that in the future, Subnormality will be (crowd)funded via Patreon.

http://www.patreon.com/subnormality

This comic strip has always been something i’ve funded by doing other work (ad-free as it is), but as the comix get longer and the other work gets otherer i’ve ironically had less time to work on the stuff that’s most important to me. If the comix can pay their own way, that would change (things that would NOT change: walls of text, me at Cracked.com, and the content and format of the website in general. I just want to do less of the stuff that isn’t the above) . Please click through for the full announcement (and an explanation of what Patreon is, for those unfamiliar), and thank you x999999999 to the 99th for listening, and for reading, and if you have any questions at all then please let me know in the comments.

with non-creepy love and much respect,

Wr

18 Responses to “Patreon!!”

  1. starrygordon Says:

    Your work is worth far more to me than the trivial sum I am patreonizing you with. It is my hope that fatter cats than I will make up the difference.

    >(oo)< //

  2. Infanttyrone Says:

    I actually just signed up for Patreon to support Cory McAbee, so it is easy-peasy to help keep you in caviar and cashmere underpants as well.

    I know how tough it can be to ask for money for work I feel lucky to even be able to do. But I’m sure you read all the gushing enthusiastic comments we put up here, and there’s a lot of people who love what you do so much that we’re happy to pitch in whatever we can.

    Keep making the stuff you love to make. And don’t hesitate to share it. You’re doing a good job.


  3. This is great! I’ve been wanting to give you money but I don’t need any more t-shirts or posters.πŸ™‚

  4. Leak Says:

    Awww crap, now I went all fractional on the sum…πŸ˜›

  5. lafinjack Says:

    “$1,028.66 per Comic”

    That’s a pretty good quarterly income.πŸ˜‰


  6. OK, weird: This morning my feed reader decided that your RSS feed was actually over on muppetmindset.wordpress.com so I got a blast of muppets to the face. I think this was a temporary glitch in wordpress.com…

  7. lafinjack Says:

    Ah, another moron who thinks ‘social justice warrior’ is an insult.


    • [^ comment was in reply to deleted comment]

      Don’t worry about engaging the trolls, that stuff just gets deleted. I certainly join you in your sentiments though.

    • Anarcissie Says:

      A few morons flavor the mix — however, I thought they were all in politics and the finance industry these days (if there’s a difference any more).

    • Mystyr Nile Says:

      So /that/’s what SJW stands for. I’ve skimmed over the abbreviation a few times on Reddit.

  8. Baldanders Says:

    First time supporting such kind of endeavour, but I’ve been thinking about it for a long while. Can’t imagine a better way to start than with your wonderful comix. I hope I can increase my meager amount in the near future


Leave a Reply

