July 20th: “Henrietta Schulz, Modern Architect”

July 21, 2008

Le comic est done (subtitle: “Paint it Grey”). Sometimes a banana is not a banana, and sometimes a comic is not, uh, non-esoteric, but there you go. Sometimes you go to a war museum in Manchester and you think to yourself, “the guy who designed this place should be whipped naked through the streets of Aberdeen.” Sometimes you spend all weekend watching Blackadder DVDs instead of leaving the house. Uh, look, I’ll see you next week alright?

–Rowntree

27 Responses to “July 20th: “Henrietta Schulz, Modern Architect””

  1. Michael Ezra Says:

    I don’t even want to know what Frank Lloyd Wright and Buckminster Fuller had to do to get THEIR designs approved. Gives new meaning to the term “Bucky balls.” :-p


  2. […] unknown . Excerpt: Le comic est done (subtitle: “Paint it Grey”). Sometimes a banana is not a banana, and sometimes a comic is not, uh, non-esoteric, but there you go. Sometimes you go to a war museum in Manchester and you think to yourself, … […]

  3. Kiwi Says:

    [has been scarred forever by Frank Gehry, thank you]

    I think Gehry DID say he came up with his designs based around what he thought other people would hate…

    fabulous comic, as always ^___^


  4. an evil architect whose malevolant goal in life is to make the world a more ugly, assymmetric place?
    Bulls’eye!
    fantaschtick (I love her expression in the first and last panels).
    Well done, my good man.

  5. Dusty668 Says:

    Finally, someone who hates humans as much as I do! She is a design Goddess!

  6. Simon Says:

    Are you sure this isn’t a documentary?

  7. bachterman Says:

    i think henrietta’s art is called “entartere kunst”.

  8. Sean Says:

    I think she designed my local shopping centre…

  9. L'Anonyme Says:

    I would rather go to that mall than the one I do.

  10. arkonbey Says:

    Refreshing! I seriously thought I was the only one who hated ‘sore thumb’ architecture. I call it ‘sore thumb’ because I also lump in buildings that just don’t work at all with any of the surrounding structures (the pyramid at the Lourvre and the terrible Experience Music Project building in Seattle and the average McMansion come to mind).

    I’m not one of those nothing-new-is-good-preserve-the-old-at-all-costs guy, but a building should fit into its environment; whether that environment is a forest or an existing cityscape. T

  11. Rob Retter Says:

    Oh, how you hit the nail right on the head with this one! That asshole Gehry stuck my college with an intensely ugly, literally non-functional computer science building (air conditioning rumbled so loudly through all the exposed aluminum ducting that the building couldn’t be qualified as occupiable-by-public, there wasn’t anything like enough electrical capacity (computer science….lots of computers….think, now — would they need, um….ELECTRICITY?) and so on). And, of course, he got some damned award for it. That’s all modern architects do, is seek awards. No of ’em give a shit about the victims they inflict their “creativity” upon.

    Unless, of course, it’s all actually nothing but raw evil, as you’ve drawn. Man, how do you *think* of this stuff?

  12. Rob Retter Says:

    By the way, did your architect character do the new fonts on the site, too?

  13. Ratazana Says:

    Good comic this week, I like this evil and manipulative architect, but I disagree with your point of view, in my opinion the attacks to modern architects are a bit gratuitous (except in the case of Frank Gehry) and the same thing for some comments (except the one that have to work in a Frank Gehry´s building).

    I expect to see those spanish translated comics soon!


  14. Fear not, I continue to work on the translated comics!

    Rob Retter: Loved your Gehry anecdote. Raw evil, I say!

  15. mr. purple cat esq. Says:

    speaking as an architect myself I must say that after reading this weeks “subnormality” i was shocked! ..shocked by how accurate it is! you are my new god! we have already started work on a new social centre to be built in your graven image. all hail the great rowntree!!

  16. Kelly F. Says:

    What are the odds? I did a Frank Gehry cartoon just last week.

    I whole-heartedly agree with this week’s cartoon, as well.

  17. curlpop Says:

    Always amazing.


  18. Brilliant. Absolutely brilliant!

  19. Robin Moshe Says:

    Excellent premise; great execution. A very solid comic. The architect-tease images make me laugh audibly each time I look at them.

  20. Ric Says:

    It’s 5:30 in the morning, and I’ve just finished reading Subnormality from the beginning, and I think I’ve found my new favourite comic series. Thanks- I’m gonna go to bed now.

  21. Christopher Says:

    if you are implying that Le Corbusier’s (AKA God) architecture is somehow related to the hack called Gehry you are sadly mistaken.

    I could have a lengthy discussion on how modernism of the 20’s-60’s and “modernism” of the contemporary era are vastly different. (Different for the sake of efficiency-Corbusier’s idea of the building as a machine versus different for the sake of being different- Gehry’s disney concert hall monstrousity).

    but they are somewhat the same in that they both thought there needed to be difference, and that thought will never really go away.

    and to arkonbey– we could have a discussion on how the juxtaposition of two vastly different things can be successful and not “fit” into the environment. (example comes to mind — the Bauhaus masters’ houses)

  22. Christopher Says:

    okay…I thought about it for a couple more minutes, and what you are calling modern architecture isn’t really modern architecture at all. Gehry and Lieb. are contemporary architects yet to be really called anything.

    Modern Architecture is a movement in the early 20th centuy (started at the Bauhaus–Corbusier, Gropius, Mies) that started in the 20’s and last just past WWII. After this point modernism becomes muddled and breaks into different categories (brtualism, deconstructivism, CONstructivism, etc.) and today’s architecture is derived from those forms of “modernism” but aren’t true modernism…

    ok, I’m done geeking out now (4 years of architecture school tends to geek one out on architecture)

  23. Chen Says:

    some very disturbing images of scantily clad old men you’ve given me…


  24. “To the architects and builders of greater Miami,
    Thank you for building another mind-numbing, stupid looking EYESORE. If you keep up at your present rate, you will be able to fill up the beach with them. Well done ! ” — Peter Lavetti, artist and photographer

  25. Dan Plaat Says:

    Being an architecture student I found more than the middle panel funny, It’s so ridiculous while still having that hint of possibility I see in many of these, surreal comics But lets say I’ve yet to encounter a anyone using sex appeal during a review. I can almost imagine alot of these comics animated into shorts, like robot Chicken

  26. Heather Says:

    I am reminded of The Fountainhead….

    ….
    ..

  27. Jay Says:

    I like the avatars.


Comments are closed.

