Solidarity

February 16, 2008

muhammed_cartoon.jpg

This is a bit pretentious, considering I’m just some idiot on the internet with an audience of about 12 people, but I nonetheless would like to reprint in this space the muhammed cartoon that has caused untold lunacy and resulted in an assassination plot against the man who drew it, 73-year old Kurt Westergaard. It’s about principles, really, and my principles dictate that, as a rational human being (to say nothing of being a cartoonist), I stand in solidarity with this man who dared to speak ill of a religion whose fundamentalists like to kill people who accuse them of being violent. Free speech–that’s what matters. I realize that most of the people reading this may not give a damn about my thoughts on this issue, but I find I just can’t keep silent–however unsolicited my opinions may be. The recent news of violence in Copenhagen in reaction to Danish papers reprinting the cartoon in solidarity makes me, er, rather annoyed. You might even say it pisses me right the fuck off. Horrible to think that one of the most beautiful cities on earth could be marred by such insanity. So there’s the cartoon, reprinted above for your convenience, and more relevant with every torched car and defiled Danish flag.

–Rowntree

15 Responses to “Solidarity”

  1. tim Says:

    Hear Hear!

  2. Zifnab Says:

    No offense, I recognize that you have the best of intentions and all, but I’d just like to point out some of the people you are in “solidarity” with.

    http://michellemalkin.com/2008/02/13/mohammed-cartoon-reprint-show-your-solidarity/

    It’s a frak’n cartoon. The jihadi ninjas who threw a hissy fit over it to begin with are idiots. The wacko Muslim-haters who have to flaunt the image at every opportunity aren’t giving me much of a warm fuzzy feeling either.

    I know you ment the best, and I’m all about the free speech and sticking it to the man. Just don’t stand too close to the stupid when you do.


  3. No sale. Standing for freedom of speech is standing for freedom of speech. How you do it is another matter, but I don’t think i’ve conducted myself in an untoward manner. There are stupid people who detract from every cause under the sun. There’s a few people in every protest crowd who start throwing stones and dismantling the nearest Starbucks, but it doesn’t mean the 95% of people who aren’t throwing stones should start soul-searching.

  4. Scott Sampson Says:

    It is the right of anyone to say whatever they want, free speech means just that. However we have to temper that with a respect for things we don’t like. I think the cartoonists (here included) should be able to print whatever they want, but if they don’t because they know irrational idiots might do them harm, i don’t begrudge them that either.

    When this first happened I heard a Christian evangelist talk about free speech, and that he put the cartoons on his website for that reason. I emailed him asking, politely, would you stand behind something depicting jesus in a bad way, but guard it under “Free Speech”. Of course he didn’t. He argued with me that there was nothing bad you could say about jesus or christianity, completely missing my point.

    I have no qualms against pissing crazy people off, i just make sure my door is locked at night. Also, if you want to be “outrageous” just to get attention (like this preacher, like all the right-wing nutbags who took this issue as a torch) at least be honest about it.

    Keep up the good work, great comic.


  5. Yeah, I should make sure my door’s locked too. Especially if I make a crazy baby eatin’ Jesus comic. Oh, just kidding, evangelists! I’d never do that! Or would I…


  6. That’s a Jesus who eats babies, not the other way around. Just though i’d clear that up.

  7. Zifnab Says:

    “–That’s a Jesus who eats babies, not the other way around. Just though i’d clear that up.–”

    See, if it had been the other way around, I’d be required to point out that under Catholic Doctrine, babies really aren’t allowed to eat Jesus until after First Communion, which you don’t normally have until the age of 12.

    And since all the other Christian faiths are a pack of wanna-be posers, that’s the only thing that really matters.




    /ducks!

  8. juannavarro Says:

    Very fucking good!
    I think that it just comes down to fucking bravery. Many folks quote the first amendment like it’s a license to be an asshole, but then when it comes to defined it, no ones to be found!
    …well except for fine folks like you. Rock.

  9. colypse Says:

    two great notions that have been mixed up over time, is: power over, and power to. it all comes down to this, if you use power over, you get the wrong angle on your perspective and perception, but power to, brings up new possibilities and will make you reach higher then average, cus, average is dumb, man.

    i must say, i had a blast reading your captain estar goes to heaven. couldn’t stop:) like your stile, keep it up.


  10. Cheers! I shall indeed keep it up.

  11. WJ Says:

    Hey look! I’m the 12th comment! You officially have 12 readers like you said


  12. Yes!! I now aspire to get that coveted 13th reader. And sorry for the delay in your comment showing up–Wordpress has started marking random comments as spam for some reason. I only noticed when I tried to post a comment myself and it was marked as spam and filtered. Maybe they’re trying to tell me something…

  13. The Number Thirteen Says:

    I concur.

  14. The Number Fourteen Says:

    I know I’m 6 months late, but I really must mention a point that was forgotten in this total chaos.

    That comic was published in the “Jyllans-Posten”, a very very right-wing daily which received a number of fines for his pro-hate editorials and is notorious in Denmark for supporting the fascists during WWII. I’m all for free speech, ya, but this rag was looking for it for a long long time.

    While the wikipedia entry for this “newspaper” has been notoriously vandalized, you can check another famous entry on free speech : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radio_Télévision_Libre_des_Mille_Collines

    P.S. : Your work is really awesome, both art and content. I wouldn’t comment if I didn’t care.


Leave a Reply

