January 25th: “Two Kinds of People”

January 25, 2009

international-oneness

Sorry, no punchline this week.  No walls of text either WHAT THE FUCK IS GOING ON?! Walls of text to return, fear not. Punchlines? Maybe. Who knows what the future will bring. Perhaps it will bring the Iron Camel, brutal champion of the animal kingdom, which features the destructive power of a pocket battleship combined with the mobility of a fat guy on stilts. A vicious battery of 11-inch guns lines its gleaming metal hull. Future headline: “Iron Camel Lays Seige to Mediterranean, Eats Some Grass.”

Whatever,

wr

66 Responses to “January 25th: “Two Kinds of People””

  1. Michael Ezra Says:

    “PDS/Premature Death Syndrome?” Great, now I’ve something else to worry about. :-)

  2. SRd'H Says:

    I loved the “There is probably no god” reference, genius!

  3. Questo's Dad Says:

    Well played, well played.

    So this Iron Camel, is he the Virus Comix superhero? I can’t wait for the issue when someone magnetizes his hull and sticks him to a fridge. How will he ever get down? Find out in next week’s episode, “A Fridge too Far”.

    P.S. The second Ghost in the Shell movie is awesome. Watch it. Also, the spinoff TV series is pretty wicked too.

  4. LafinJack Says:

    Sesame seeds are a conspiracy, I tell ya.

  5. Elaine Says:

    Great continuity, having everyone who was thinking of themselves as the “us” part of the crowd in the next one.

  6. Twitch Says:

    I reread it a couple times looking for a punchline, noticed the recurring characters, and decided *that* was the punchline. ‘s better that way :)

  7. zwrdl Says:

    I *love* the ” two kinds of people gambit ” because you can throw it in anywhere. Even better than the “there’s us” maneuver, since it’s endless. Examples– There are only two kinds of people: those who watch Subnormality and those who don’t. Those who use cabbage leaves as toilet paper, and those who don’t. Those who know the date of the discovery of Pluto, and those who don’t. Those who eat okra-flavored mayonnaise, and those who don’t. Throw them into any conversation, folks. Guaranteed show stoppers. Collect them all.

  8. Cisquo Says:

    eagerly awaiting the iron camel; good comic today, I had to re-read it once though!

  9. Doug Young Says:

    Methinks you should include the image of your comic in your RSS feed.

  10. Suntiger Says:

    I disagree, there is a punchline this week. Twitch already brought it up.
    Very funny, but also very accurate, from both sides.

    Pedestrians and drivers are the same, even though people frequently switch between being both.

    And really, I don’t think it’s wrong, you just have to remember that you are both ‘one of us’ as well as ‘the public’. ;)

  11. andrew Says:

    Hey i love the comic. You put a lot of detail into the artwork. Finding the character become the public in the next frame was a nice touch!

  12. scott Says:

    Oh, I completely didn’t notice the not-public becoming the public.
    But I did notice and enjoy premature death syndrome, burgasm, the poor dude looking very unwell carrying the chick, and the people waving at the camera.


  13. Wow, I’m glad I read the comments. I never would have gotten that extra punchline (i.e., everyone is the public sometimes) otherwise. Good stuff!

  14. Tomora Says:

    Beautiful work, Rowntree.

  15. zwrdl Says:

    “P.S. The second Ghost in the Shell movie is awesome. ”

    Are you referring to “Ghost in the Shell 2: Innocence,” the 2004 film?

  16. frankwolftown Says:

    m

  17. Tom Says:

    Really good work, very cool.

  18. J.T. WIlson Says:

    Very nice, Winston sir!! No punchy punch line necessary, this one was subtle enough.
    I too sadly overlooked the “everyone is everyone” recurring characters but that made it that more exciting going back and discovering more, even though I already scour the panels looking for details, expressions and possible sidestories explained in just one image.

    Also, even moreso than usual, I am really digging your layouts, great sense of depth, foreground/background etc. Very multiplane, you’ve got a good eye for composition I think. Mine’s so so but yours are very good.

    Also, Ghost in the SHell 2 is an abomination. It’s too slow, pretentious and waaay too heavy on the 3D. Although the first one was sheer genius, as far as design, pacing and narrative. Gorgeous and haunting.
    I’m an animator/anime lover myself but I hated “Innocence”. I also didn’t care for the Standalone complex thingie, too throwaway.

    Anyone that wants to stop by my house and pick up that DVD for free is welcome to.

    PS>’Burgasm’, very nice. I love your snarky advertising in the background. A cynical heart after my own.

  19. Olivia Says:

    umm this comic is hilarious, but there must be more, this one cannot be the most up to date one!!! More Please!

  20. frankwolftown Says:

    I was a Marine and I’ve definitely thought that on a few occasions. This certainly put things in perspective.


  21. You really needed that weird guy in the front row of the concert staring at the lead singer because they sacked the bass player (as per one of your previous cartoons)


  22. Okay I’ve noticed the link between each panel: Each major character in the panel is a minor character in the following one.

    Panel #1 Soldier is a red headed guy with freckles who is seen pointing at his watch in Panel #2

    Panel #2 Burger lady is the “Yes!” girl in the concert in panel #3.

    Panel #3 Green haired singer is a bus passenger in panel #4

    Panel #4 bus driver is a pedestrian in panel #5.

    Panel #5 policeman is waiting in line at the clinic in panel #6

    Panel #6 doctor is waving at soldier in panel #1.

    Good work Winston. Highly entertaining.


  23. Okay, got even more.

    Panel #1 and Panel #4 (the panels on the l/h said) are about transport.

    Panel #2 and Panel #5 (the middle panels) are representative of law and chaos.

    Panel #3 and Panel #6 (the r/h panels) each have people opening their mouths wide.

  24. Sara Says:

    Punchlines are over-rated and thought-provoking comics under-.


  25. And even more.

    The top panels are about people in groups.

    The bottom panels are about people in lines.

  26. Luvian Says:

    I love the filename of that one. :D

  27. Dusty668 Says:

    Good Show Rawther!

  28. Ziliuse Says:

    Great job! The devil … ehr … the punchline is in the details.
    Anyway somebody has to say it: there actually are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary and those who don’t.

    Oh, and GitS 1 is (way) better than GitS:Innocence!

  29. Gunfinder Says:

    Seriously, no one noticed the guy with the gun in the second panel? Or is that absolutely not a gun, and I visually impaired?

  30. BKred Says:

    I think this is probably one of my most favorite comics out of all the ones you’ve done. The inclusion of the speaker in the background of each proceeding panel is a beautiful touch.

  31. TentacledBeast Says:

    Hmmm… I wouldn’t say soldiers, policemen, artists and workers are in the same “not public” category…


  32. Once again you prove that you are one of the great talents of amazing internet comicdome of fantaschtik.

    I salute you and thank you for the amazing.

  33. arkonbey Says:

    Wonderful. A nice example of the solution-less problem with the world: A distinct lack of empathy.

  34. datwilliams Says:

    you see, there’s really just me

  35. Raven Says:

    This is brilliantly, brilliantly done. Subtle and cool.


  36. JT Wilson: Thanks for the art praise, much appreciated. I do what i can, but see much room for improvement. As for Ghost in the Shell 2, still haven’t seen it, but i’ll be sure and post a reaction when i do. Haven’t even watched the first one since the days of VHS, though i do have the intensely-fleshed-out GitS graphic novel kicking around somewhere.

    One Salient Oversight: I was actually going to put the creepy music fan in the front row, just as you suggested, but i had the computer off at the time and didn’t feel like turning it on, so i didn’t have the visual reference. Rowntree you lazy bastard.

    Gunfinder: Bonus points for, well, finding the gun.

    Raven, Farhan Mannan: Why thank you!

  37. Robert B Says:

    I love the gag. Please have one comic about cats. :D

  38. Nentuaby Says:

    I totally expected to see “us” serving as “the public” in each following panel before I went looking for it. Just seemed kind of perfect, neh?

    I don’t find the effect “ironic” at all, though. Indeed, I see it as highlighting a great truth. The dichotomy is not false, it is situational. The fact that we will be both “us” and “the public” many times throughout our lives is something that really sets modern, intricately complex, fluid, socially mobile civilization apart from the more static, master-and-servant societies of old. The realization is one which ought to color our dealings in both roles.

  39. shockdoc Says:

    Noticeably, not “Too many words”.

  40. Kerlyssa Says:

    I like the inclusion of a certain controversial ad campaign in the background. :)


  41. Man I hope you make a good living out of doing these comics. You deserve it WR.


  42. Robert B: Every Sphynx comic is 33% about cats. If you see what i mean.

    Nentuaby: Fascinating point there, i appreciate you bringing it up. Hadn’t thought about it in a historical context. Well analysed. Food for thought, which is like regular food except you get crazy instead of fat.

    Shockdoc: I’m just waiting for someone to say “didn’t read it–not enough words.”

    Kerlyssa: Best ad campaign ever.

    One Salient Oversight: I’m not making a dime, unfortunately, but thanks for saying i deserve it. One day this crazy comics thing will be my living, but i ain’t there yet. Until then, I’d rather deserve wealth and not have it than have undeserved wealth, so don’t feel too bad for me.


  43. What’s with the guitarist playing a left handed guitar right handed in caption #3?


  44. You need more merchandise. I want a Captain Estar coffee mug.


  45. Or maybe a Babi Yar Tote bag.

  46. Dave Says:

    I’m pretty sure I have PDS.

  47. vincent pallacio Says:

    usualy i dislike comics. but here i really enjoy them….

  48. fugly mom Says:

    I don’t get it.

  49. zhirzzh Says:

    I don’t know if this was intentional or if anyone else noticed it, but the lights at the back of the concert connect the thought bubble to the audience. This implies that they also consider themselves separate from the (no concert going) public and is very clever (if you did it on purpose).

  50. dejectedrobot Says:

    I think the comic would have worked better without pointing out the focus of each panel. Let the reader decide who is “us” and who are the “public.”

  51. Babs Says:

    Great comic, am I the only one that noticed that the ‘us’ of one panel becomes part of the ‘public’ in the panel following it?

  52. msr Says:

    Yeah, I noticed that too. I thought, “wouldn’t it be cool if…” and then I looked and there it was. haha

  53. vineetgupta Says:

    That’s the point of the strip. Effin brilliant comic!

  54. Jo Says:

    Clever and true. We all think we’re separate from everyone else when really, we’re just another no-name taking up a space in the crowd.

  55. Sarah Says:

    I don’t usually comment on comics, but I had to on this. I love the subtle placement of the “us” in the public of the next panel!

  56. John Doe Says:

    Excellent

  57. lora Says:

    lol wow, so true in every sense :P

  58. Grant Says:

    Awesome – hopefully a lot more people well step back and remember that truth

  59. Chad Says:

    So True, whenever I feel like I am about to explode at work I think of this comic and the fact that there are probably soldiers, drivers and doctors in the lines. (I consider myself in the #2 Category thus it’s why I feel she has the worst of it all.)

    I almost feel like everyone should have to experience other jobs. I have no sympathy for the man who never had to work in the intense side of the service industry (Fast Food and Theater Concessions) and feels he has a right to complain about lines or prices.

    • Killjoy Supreme Says:

      #2 Represent! I personally believe everyone should do a year or two waiting tables or serving burgers. God knows it would save us a lot of assholes

  60. Vonthako Says:

    Perhaps a subset of the more common “there’s us and there’s them” mindset?

    But, during National Brotherhood Week…

  61. Pedro Ribeiro Says:

    Outstanding. Of course, there are only two kinds of people: those who believe that people can be classified in two groups and those who don’t.
    Yeah, I know, old joke.
    Hey, what about this? There are only 10 kinds of people, those who understand binary and those who don’t.
    Ok, I’ll go now.

  62. Yenski Says:

    Love your work. So much so, that I’m going back to the very first and reading them all again. Thanks for putting these out there!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 394 other followers

